Even Goblins Get The Blues

New Titles

Even Goblins Get The Blues (8/18/20): Abernathy The Clear is the only therapist in a classic fantasy world. His patients include goblins, dragons, mermaids, and minotaurs, as well as a few humans. He practices in Sapphire City, a thriving commercial center thanks to its policy of welcoming any intelligent being who wishes to trade. When a bizarre crime takes place there, Abernathy is called in to offer insight and soon finds himself out of his comfort zone. Ultimately, he becomes enmeshed in a scandal involving one of his patients, and the legitimacy of his unique treatment method is called into question. To clear his client and himself, he has to rely not only on his old adventuring skills, but an unusual group of comrades as well.

$17.99, Street date 4/28/2020 (delayed to 8/18 due to Covid issues at the press plant). Book trade customers should contact New Leaf Distribution for ordering information.

Consumer Orders

Even Goblins Get The Blues

Books will finally arrive at our warehouse on 8/07 and we'll begin shipping consumer orders on 8/10. Amazon already has the physical book listed; they may add Prime Shipping in about two weeks.

Billing and shipping fulfilled by The MTG Place. At the present time, physical book offers are for US customers only.

Physical Book: This package includes a book that will be shipped to you via Media Mail. Includes shipping. $17.50

Physical Book, Fast Shipping This package includes a book that will be shipped to you via Priority Mail. Includes shipping. $19.50

Add your choice of two stellar CDs to any book order above. The Neil Gaiman album "Where's Neil When You Need Him?" features text by Neil, art by Dave McKean and music by Tori Amos, Rasputina, Future Bible Heroes and many others. Or choose the Dark Kingdom: Dragon King movie soundtrack, featuring E Nomine, Corvus Corax, Schandmaul, Faun, Xandria, Das Ich and more. Your CD will ship together with your book.

Purchasing Options
Autograph text, if desired

Authors

Patrick Rodgers

Even Goblins Get The Blues

Bahamian author Patrick Rodgers is a world traveler always in search of new music, great food, and honest conversations. His trips to North Korea, Iran, Cuba, and numerous other countries, as well as a love of history, have given him a rich palette of inspiration from which to create new worlds and stories. A lifelong writer, he placed first nationally in the Bahamian Arts Festival's storytelling contest for several years. Later he did editing and writing for gaming magazines. He loves bringing a bit of realism to classic fantasy and, he hopes, channeling a bit of Douglas Adams. He previously collaborated with Neil Gaiman, and as a DJ he has a Billboard Top 40 album to his credit. He is the first person in the US to foreclose on a bank. He wrote the storyline for the debut season of the Philadelphia Renaissance Faire and cast Hafthor Julius Bjornsson ("The Mountain" from Game of Thrones) in the lead role. He has presented two dinner events, Philadelphia's first Uyghur meal and America's first authentic 4,000 year-old Babylonian banquet. During some of his numerous TV appearances, Stephen Colbert called him a "Difference Maker" and Don Lemon referred to him as a folk hero. He loves living in Philadelphia but during the cold winters, he misses the islands and longs for a hot bowl of conch chowder.

Who We Are

Dancing Ferret Logo

The Company

From Music to Books

At its most active, Dancing Ferret Discs notched several Billboard #1 singles, had a roster of over twenty artists from around the world, and sold more than a quarter of a million CDs. DFD is now a catalogue label, keeping existing titles in print but not signing new artists. Continuing its long partnership with New Leaf Distribution, Dancing Ferret has spun off a publishing company and entered the book trade.

Reviews

"If Neil Gaiman had ever written an episode of 'The Sopranos' with Dr. Melfi tending to a Centaur Tony Soprano -with just a hint of William S. Burroughs' smugness and alien sensuality - that would be the tone, texture and feel of 'Even Goblins Get The Blues.'" - a.d. amorosi, Philadelphia Weekly

"Original concept and humorous details" - Publishers Weekly

"Rodgers infuses his story with an appealing sense of empathy and compassion and a strong knowledge of mental health topics..." - Kirkus Reviews

"Puts a new spin on fantasy by exploring the psychological mindsets of the genre's classic creatures..Fans of J. R. R. Tolkien and C. S. Lewis will enjoy this novel's strong worldbuilding - particularly the distinctive history and lore - as well as its epic adventures." - Reedsy Discovery Newsletter

"Rodgers crafts a fantasy that is delightfully original and unexpected...fantasy, comedy, and solid psychological processes. Even Goblins Get The Blues [is] in a category of its own." - D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review

"A book that's funny without being comical, poignant without being sentimental, and above all, tenderly true to its influences. A natural 20." - Kyle Cassidy, Author, This is What A Librarian Looks Like